Michael Perry's Voice Mail
Michael Perry's Voice Mail
Episode #168: "Back To Books"
6
0:00
-8:03

Episode #168: "Back To Books"

...with thunder.
6
Gonna see what she can teach me.

Welcome to Michael Perry’s Voice Mail, episode 168. This one’s available to free and paid subscribers alike. Click the player above to listen.

I wrote this up as a fresh “Roughneck Grace” essay. Then I recorded it during a thunderstorm. The plan was to talk about turning back to books. Which I did. But I also invoked pigeons, ping-pong balls, and parkour. I then veered into a light consideration of queasy unease. After a few other meanders, I wrapped it up by revisiting some marginalia from my copies (yes, plural, as I explain in the recording) of this book:

One for reading, one for scribbling.
Poets cut to the chase.
Life and death lessons.

In today’s recording I also make passing reference to a song I find deeply moving—“If Christopher Calls,” by Foy Vance.

As ever, folks, I take neither your time nor your attention for granted. I hope that comes through. Thank you for listening in today. Barring the Great Unexpected (it’s actually completely expected, just never sure when), I’ll sit down in the little room above the garage here and record another one next week. Meanwhile, all the books and things are here.

This is a free episode. If you’re interested in receiving all weekly episodes, please consider hitting the subscribe button below (it says “Subscribe Now” but you won’t actually be subscribed until you review your options and confirm):

If you’re willing to share this episode with a friend, here y’go:

Share

And finally, you can give a gift subscription:

Give a gift subscription

And finally, finally, several years ago I met this fellow in a coffee shop. He was drawing little pictures. He has done amazing things since.

Okey-doke. See y’down the road,
Mike

Start writing today. Use the button below to create your Substack and connect your publication with Michael Perry's Voice Mail

Start a Substack

6 Comments
Michael Perry's Voice Mail
Michael Perry's Voice Mail
The audio version of Michael Perry's weekly "Roughneck Grace" newsletter. In addition to informal news and notes, Mike reaches into the SneezingCow.com archives and reads one of his "Roughneck Grace" columns aloud.